Bewdley Town Council logo

Wyre Forest District Council announces new chairman

A former Mayor of Kidderminster who was inspired to become a councillor to carry on the work of his late wife, has been elected Chairman of Wyre Forest District Council.

Councillor John Aston, who has represented Aggborough and Spennells ward for the last 16 years, was named Chairman at Wyre Forest District Council’s annual meeting last night, taking up the reins from outgoing chairman Councillor Shazu Miah. 

Councillor Aston, who is also a town councillor and Mayor of Kidderminster in 2012, was elected on the district council in 2005 following the unexpected death of his wife, Councillor Maureen Aston.

He decided to stand as a candidate to carry on his wife’s good work. At the time he said it would be “the finest way to remember Maureen”.

As chairman Councillor Aston will represent the district at a wide range of functions across the region, including community and charity events and formal openings.

He will also chair council meetings and work throughout the year to raise money for charity. He has chosen to support Marie Curie and KDYT Kidderminster & District Youth Trust.

Councillor Aston said: “I’m delighted to be serving as Chairman of Wyre Forest District Council for this municipal year. It has been a hard 12 months for everyone with the coronavirus pandemic but there is now light at the end of the tunnel so I’m really looking forward to representing the council at events and organising fundraising activities for my chosen charities.

“I decided to support Marie Curie as their cause is close to my heart and I feel they don’t get the recognition they deserve. I also chose to support Kidderminster & District Youth Trust as they help young people across the district by taking them on trips and organising amazing activities.”

During his term as Mayor of Kidderminster Councillor Aston raised £12,000 for local mental health charity Wyre Forest Mind.

Any organisations that would like advice on inviting the Chairman to attend an event should contact the Chairman’s secretary, by email

Councillor Peter Dyke will be Vice Chairman for the municipal year.